DeutschEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the worldEnglishEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the worldEspañolEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the worldFrançaisEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the worldItalianoEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the worldMagyarEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the worldNederlandsEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the world
Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh
Eautarcie EAUTARCIE Eautarcie- Joseph Országh
HomepageIntroductionEcological SanitationRainwater HarvestingGreywater ManagementDry ToiletsEautarcie Challenges WorldwideIntegrated Management of Water and BiomassReflections on Water PoliciesSite Map - Glossary - FAQs - Downloads EAUTARCIE, Sustainable Water Management for the World
Dry Toilets
Why Use Dry Toilets ?

Our Relation to our Dejecta

The Holy Shit

Three Generations of Dry Toilets

The BLT Instruction Manual
Chemical Composition of Human Dejecta
Composting Human Dejecta
BLTs on the Market
Search a word within the website eautarcie.org 
Loading

The text within this page was first published in French on www.eautarcie.com: in 2003

The original text has been adapted and translated in English by André Leguerrier and was first posted on www.eautarcie.org: 2009-06-15

Last update: 2017-08-16

Chemical Composition of Human Dejecta

Source: Composting: Sanitary Disposal and Reclamation of Organic Wastes, by Harold B. Gotaas, monograph under WHO auspices, 1956, p. 35

Human faeces material without urine
Approximate quantity: 150 to 270 g (0.3 - 0.6 lb.) per capita per day moist weight
Approximate composition: Moisture content 66 - 80 %
  Organic matter (dry basis) 88 - 97 %
  Nitrogen (dry basis) 5.0 - 7.0 %
  Phosphorus (P2O5) (dry basis) 3.0 - 5.4 %
  Potassium (K2O) (dry basis) 1.0 - 2.5 %
  Carbon (dry basis) 40 - 55 %
  Calcium (CaO) (dry basis) 4.0 - 5.0 %
  C/N Ratio 5.0 - 10.0
Human urine
Approximate quantity: Volume: 1.0 to 1.3 litres (1¾ - 2¼ pints) per capita per day
  Dry solids: 50 to 70 g (0.12 – 0.16 lb.) per capita per day
Approximate composition: Moisture content 93 - 96 %
  Organic matter (dry basis) 65 - 85 %
  Nitrogen (dry basis) 15 - 19 %
  Phosphorus (P2O5) (dry basis) 2.5 - 5.0 %
  Potassium (K2O) (dry basis) 3.0 - 4.5 %
  Carbon (dry basis) 11 - 17 %
  Calcium (CaO) (dry basis) 4.5 - 6.0 %

From the above data, we can estimate the average nitrogen and phosphorus content of human dejecta. For this, we first determine the maximum and minimum limits within which these values are found. These limits define both extremes in the characteristics of the dejecta produced by vegetarians / frugal eaters on the one hand, and carnivores / intensive eaters on the other.

Faeces

Nitrogen. The minimum value can be estimated from 40g of dry matter containing 5% nitrogen (N). This represents 2g of N per day per person, equivalent to 0.73kg per year. The maximum is at 81g of dry matter containing 7% N, which makes for 5.67g of N per day per person, or 2.07kg per year.

Phosphorus. The minimum is 3% of 40g, equal to 1.2g of phosphorus pentoxide (P2O5) per day per person, or 0.438kg per year. The maximum is 5.4% of 81g, equal to 4.374g of P2O5 per day per person, or 1.597kg per year.

Urine

Nitrogen. The minimum value can be estimated from 50g of dry matter containing 15% nitrogen (N). This represents 7.5g of N per day per person, equivalent to 2.738 kg per year. The maximum is at 70g of dry matter containing 19% N, which makes for 13.3g of N per day per person, or 4.855kg per year.

Phosphorus. The minimum is 2.5% of 50g, equal to 1.25g of phosphorus pentoxide (P2O5) per day per person, or 0.456kg per year. The maximum is 5 % of 70g, equal to 3.5g of (P2O5) per day per person, or 1.277kg per year.

Determining the total content of nitrogen and phosphorus

Nitrogen and Phosphorus Content [kg per person per year]
  Nitrogen [N] Phosphorus [P2O5]
Faecal matter 0.73 to 2.07 0.438 to 1.597
Urine 2.738 to 4.855 0.456 to 1.277
Total average production 5.20 kg N 1.884 P2O5 = 0.823 kg P

Concerning nitrogen, we have a total of (0.73+2.07)= 2.80 (minimum) to (2.738+4.855)= 7.593kg (maximum) of nitrogen produced per year per person, in the form of precious organic compounds. The average value of nitrogen is therefore (2.80+7.593)/2 = 5.1965 rounded out at 5.20kg of N per year per person. As this is an estimated average, the real value will be situated somewhere between the minimum and maximum limits.

Concerning phosphorus, we have a total of (0.438+0.456)= 0.894 (minimum) to (1.597+1.277)= 2.874kg (maximum) of (P2O5) produced per year per person, again in the form of precious organic compounds. The average value of phosphorus is therefore (0.894+2.874)/2 = 1.884kg of (P2O5), equivalent to 0.823kg of phosphorus (P) per year per person. Again, the real value will be situated somewhere between the minimum and maximum limits.

According to these estimates, urine contains about 73% of the nitrogen contained in human dejecta. This is close to the 80% ratio usually cited in most technical literature. The discrepancy likely depends on the nature of the population sampled. The chemical compostion of human dejecta can vary quite a lot depending on people’s food habits.

To continue reading, go to chapter on Composting human dejecta.

TOP

Home - Introduction - Ecological Sanitation - Rainwater Harvesting - Greywater Management - Dry Toilets - Challenges Worldwide - Integrated Management - Reflections on Water Policies - Site Map – Glossary – FAQs – Downloads

DeutschEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeEnglishEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeEspañolEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeFrançaisEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeItalianoEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeMagyarEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeNederlandsEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le monde
Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh
Eautarcie EAUTARCIE Eautarcie- Joseph Országh
AccueilIntroductionAssainissement EcologiqueValorisation de l'Eau de PluieGestion des eaux grisesToilettes SèchesEautarcie en Ville et dans le Mondegestion Conjointe de l'Eau et de la BiomasseRéflexions sur les politiques de l’eauPlan du site – Lexique – FAQ – Documentation La gestion durable de l'eau dans le monde
Toilettes Sèches
Utiliser une toilette sèche

Notre relation à nos déjections

Culture de merde

Toujours des excuses

Trois générations de toilettes sèches

Mode d'emploi de la TLB

Composition chimique des déjections

Compostage des déjections humaines

TLB dans le commerce

Recherche d'un terme
sur le site eautarcie.org 
Loading

Première publication du texte de la présente page sur www.eautarcie.com : 2003

Adaptation du texte original et première publication de la présente page sur www.eautarcie.org : 2009-10-09

Mise à jour : 2012-04-03


Composition chimique des déjections

Source:
Rodale, Gotaas composting, cité par François Tanguay, dans le Petit manuel d'auto-construction, Éditions de Mortagne, Québec, 1990, p.230

Matières solides sans urine
Quantités approximatives : 150 à 300 g de matière humide par jour par personne
Matières sèches: 40 à 81 g de matière sèche par jour par personne
Composition approximative : Humidité 66 - 80 %, soit une moyenne de 73 %
Dans la matière sèche : Composés organiques 88 - 97 %
  Azote 5 - 7 %
  Phosphore (P2O5) 3 - 5,4 %
  Potassium (K2O) 1 - 2,5 %
  Carbone 40 -55 %
  Calcium (CaO) 4 - 5 %
  Rapport carbone/azote C/N 8 - 10

 

Urine humaine
Volume : de 1 à 1,3 litre par jour par personne
Résidu sec : de 50 à 70 g par jour par personne
Composition approximative : Humidité 93 - 96 %
Dans la matière sèche : Composés organiques 65 - 85 %
  Azote 15 - 19 %
  Phosphore (P2O5) 2,5 - 5 %
  Potassium (K2O) 3 - 4,5 %
  Carbone 11 - 17 %
  Calcium (CaO) 4,5 - 6 %

Sur la base des données du tableau, nous pouvons estimer le contenu moyen azoté et phosphoré des déjections humaines. Pour cela, nous établissons des valeurs limites qui encadrent le contenu moyen azoté ou phosphoré des déjections. Les deux extrêmes constituent la « production » des personnes végétariennes et frugales et celles qui ont une alimentation carnée et abondante.

Les fèces

L'azote. Le minimum peut être estimé en partant de 40 g de matières sèches contenant 5% d'azote. Cela fait 2 g d'azote par jour par personne équivalent à 0,73 kg d'azote N par an. Le maximum se situe à 81 g de matières sèches contenant 7% d'azote, qui fait 5,67 g d'azote par jour par personne, ou 2,07 kg par an.

Le phosphore. Le minium est de 3% de 40 g, soit 1,2 g de (exprimé en équivalent de pentoxyde de) phosphore P2O5 par jour par personne, ou 0,438 kg par an. Le maximum est de 5,4 % de 81 g, soit 4,374 g par jour par personne, ou 1,597 kg par an.

L'urine

L'azote. Le minimum est estimé en se basant sur 50 g de matières sèches contenant 15% d'azote, ce qui fait 7,5 g d'azote par jour par personne, équivalent à 2,738 kg d'azote N par an. Le maximum se situe à 70 g de matières sèches contenant 19% d'azote, équivalent à 13,3 g d'azote par personne par jour ou 4,855 kg par an.

Le phosphore. Le minimum est de 2,5% de 50 g, soit 1,25 g de phosphore P2O5 par jour par personne, ou 0,456 kg par an. Le maximum est de 5% de 70 g, soit 3,5 g par jour par personne, où 1,277 kg par an.

Contenu [kg par personne par an] Azote [N] Phosphore [P2O5]
Matière fécale 0,73 à 2,07 0,438 à 1,597
Urine 2,738 à 4,855 0,456 à 1,277
Production totale moyenne 5,20 kg N 1,884 soit 0,823 kg P

En ce qui concerne l'azote, nous avons un total de (0,73+2,07)= 2,80 à (2,738+4,855)= 7,593 kg d'azote produit par an par personne sous forme de composés organiques précieux. Si la valeur moyenne est donc de (2,80+7,593)/2 = 5,1965 que nous arrondissons à 5,20 kg d'azote N par an par personne, sur base de ce qui précède, il s'agit d'une estimation. La valeur réelle se situe quelque part entre les deux valeurs extrêmes.

La valeur moyenne du phosphore se situe entre (0,438 + 0,456) et (1,597 + 1,277), soit de 0,894 à 2,874 kg de P2O5 produit par an par personne. La moyenne arithmétique est (0,894+2,874)/2 = 1,884 kg. 1,884 kg de P2O5 équivaut à 0,823 kg de phosphore P produite par personne et par an sous forme de composés organiques.

D'après ces estimations, l'urine contiendrait environ 73% de l'azote contenu dans nos déjections. Dans la littérature certains citent une proportion de 80%, ce qui est proche de notre estimation. Les incertitudes proviennent probablement de la nature de l'échantillon de population ayant fourni les matières à analyser. La composition chimique des déjections varie fortement en fonction des habitudes alimentaires.

Pour continuer la lecture, passer au chapitre sur Le compostage des déjections humaines.

 

TOP

Accueil - Introduction - Assainissement Ecologique - La Valorisation de l'Eau de Pluie - Gestion des eaux grises - Toilettes Sèches - Eautarcie en Ville et dans le Monde - Gestion Conjointe de l'Eau et de la Biomasse - Réflexions sur les politiques de l’eau - Annexes