DeutschEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the world EnglishEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the world EspañolEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the world FrançaisEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the world MagyarEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the world NederlandsEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the world
Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh
Eautarcie EAUTARCIE Eautarcie- Joseph Országh
HomepageIntroductionEcological SanitationRainwater HarvestingGreywater ManagementDry ToiletsEautarcie Challenges WorldwideIntegrated Water and Biomass ManagementReflections on Water PoliciesSite Map - Glossary - FAQs - Downloads EAUTARCIE, Sustainable Water Management for the World
Homepage
Homepage

EAUTARCIE homes

Testimonial from Andalusia

Contact

Search a word within the website eautarcie.org 
Loading

The houses shown on this page are older projects derived from our work at the University of Mons. Funding for this work (by the Walloon Region) was subject to a prior condition: purify domestic wastewater as much as possible. Since the date of Joseph Országh’s retirement from the university in 2002, the EAUTARCIE concept has become free from academic constraints. The ideas that had already been conceived in 1992, although partly developed, were now able to mature, free from mental barriers imposed by the academic world. Overall, a change of paradigm imposed itself: by considering that wastewater is a fully recoverable resource, not waste, the idea of wastewater purification has been abandoned. The technical aspects of EAUTARCIE have themselves been « purified », thanks to the help of friends and correspondents. Given this, the greywater purification system we named TRAISELECT is no longer relevant, since wastewater treatment is the worst thing one can do with wastewater. Our techniques are now simpler, cheaper and more efficient. These techniques are what we offer to the public on this website. Nevertheless, they are still evolving.

It is interesting to read a testimonial from Andalusia (Spain) on EAUTARCIE’s benefits in dry regions.

The EAUTARCIE website has been adapted and translated from the French version by André Leguerrier architect, Montreal, Canada.

The text within this page was first published in French on www.eautarcie.com: in 2003

The original text has since been adapted and first published in English on this page at www.eautarcie.org: 2010-06-24

Last update: 2017-02-06

EAUTARCIE Homes

Autonomous Home in Malonne (Belgium)

Home not connected to centralized sewerage or water supply networks. Before recent ownership change, besides the original three family members, the house also accommodated a small centre for the practice of yoga. One of the two BioLitter Toilets was made available to the centre’s clients and accepted without problem.

Technical data:

Images


View of the home’s garden, with the greywater treatment system’s wetland finishing treatment pond


The four cisterns during construction

Another Home in Malonne (Belgium)

Home fully equipped with the EAUTARCIE system.

Because the house is situated in an area serviced by centralized sewerage, communal authorities ordered that the TRAISELECT system be put out of service, and the house connected to the sewers. Said sewer – in the absence of a sanitation system – discharged its effluent into the river, without any treatment. After a lot of bureaucratic red tape, the TRAISELECT treatment system was unofficially tolerated, tentatively. One problem with the set-up: the difficulty to infiltrate the effluent into the soil due to the water table’s very close proximity to the ground (the house was built in a flood plain).

Technical data:


The planted soilbox filter can be seen next to the wetland's finishing treatment pond, after completion

City Home in Mons (Belgium)

Home not connected to centralized sewerage or water supply networks.

Technical data:

Images



The home’s garden (or « backyard »)


The BioLitter Toilet (BLT)


The compost area, including the compost bin during the initial stage, and the compost heap during the curing stage


The wetland pond harbouring fish. The water quality at the overflow of this pond complies with European standards as water suitable for making drinking water

A Sculptor’s Home in Achenne (Belgium)

Home equipped with the TRAISELECT system.

Once the greywater treatment system was installed, the flush toilets were replaced by BLTs. After a few years of successful operation, the communal authorities decided to implement a sewer in the street. At that point, the owner was invited to disconnect his treatment system and connect his home to the sewer. After a lot of bureaucratic red tape, the treatment system was finally authorized in light of the fact it had been set up before the sewer.

Before final authorization, experts examined the system. In their report, they stated that « the water discharged at the system’s outlet does not comply with discharge standards ». Upon examination of the report, it turned out that the experts had monitored the water quality at the greywater reactor’s outlet, and not the water issuing from the wetland pond. Since both the trench filter and the wetland are watertight with respect to the soil, the ultimate outlet of the system is located at the pond's overflow, and not at the reactor’s overflow. The water quality issuing from the pond's overflow was close to potable water standards.

The planted trench filter was intentionally set up as a small decorative rivulet crossing the garden, draining to the 20-m² artificial wetland pond that is set at the property’s lowest point. The pond’s overflow discharges into an intermittent naturally occurring rivulet.

One incident: a light bacterial film appeared on the pond’s surface, the origin of which has never been ascertained. After a few months, the film disappeared.

Images


BLTs were installed after flush toilets were removed




You can see the planted trench filter (1st photo) swerving towards the wetland finishing treatment pond (2nd and 3rd photos)

Camping de la Sablière Near the City of Binche (Belgium)

Camping ground with wood cottages or caravans (also called « trailers » or « RVs=recreational vehicles »).

In the campsite’s main hall (used for meetings, parties, conferences, etc.), a faucet delivers microfiltered rainwater.

The toilet and washroom facilities include many BioLitter toilets. An experiment that aimed to automate the proper dose of litter to be used ultimately failed. However, all conventional BLTs have provided satisfactory results with the public that uses them. Litter urinals can be found in many places throughout the premises. In order to limit the use of chemical toilets by the public, the administration has clients pay for the cost of emptying such toilets. On the other hand, BLT users receive litter free of charge, and they can empty their toilet effluent on a compost heap that is easily accessible. Yet in spite of this promotion, few campers have adopted these dry toilets.

The little greywater produced by the cottages is discharged into a planted trench filter, without an impervious bottom. Thus, the wastewater that is filtered by plants is infiltrated directly into the soil. On the other hand, greywater issuing from lavatories and communal showers is treated using the TRAISELECT System: batch reactor, planted trench filter and finishing treatment pond. The pond is a highly visible decorative element at the campsite’s entrance.

Images




The constructed wetland pond for selective greywater treatment: as seen in April 2001 (1st photo) and in 2004 (2nd and 3rd photos)


Greywater infiltration in the ground near each cottage or caravan

TOP

Home - Introduction - Ecological Sanitation - Rainwater Harvesting - Greywater Management - Dry Toilets - Challenges Worldwide - Integrated Management - Reflections on Water Policies - Site Map – Glossary – FAQs – Downloads

DeutschEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeEnglishEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeEspañolEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeFrançaisEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeItalianoEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeMagyarEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeNederlandsEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le monde
Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh
Eautarcie EAUTARCIE Eautarcie- Joseph Országh
AccueilIntroductionAssainissement EcologiqueValorisation de l'Eau de PluieGestion des eaux grisesToilettes SèchesEautarcie en Ville et dans le Mondegestion Conjointe de l'Eau et de la BiomasseRéflexions sur les politiques de l’eauPlan du site – Lexique – FAQ – Documentation La gestion durable de l'eau dans le monde
Accueil
Présentation

Maisons en Eautarcie

Témoignage venant d'Andalousie

Le caca, c'est pas de la merde

Contact

Actualités

Recherche d'un terme
sur le site eautarcie.org 
Loading

Remarque de Joseph Országh. Les maisons présentées dans ce chapitre ne sont que des anciennes réalisations directement issues de nos travaux à l'Université de Mons. Le financement de ces travaux (par la Région Wallonne) était soumise à une condition préalable : épurer au mieux les eaux usées. Depuis 2002, à la date de ma mise à la retraite, le concept EAUTARCIE, libéré des contraintes académiques, a pu retrouver les idées d'origine, formulées – d'une manière encore immature – déjà en 1992. Les années de la retraite, m’ont donné la possibilité de réflexions pour me libérer des dernières entraves mentales suggérées, voire imposées par le milieu académique qui était le mien. En résumé, il a fallu abandonner définitivement la volonté d'épurer, en découvrant le fait que les eaux usées ne sont pas des déchets, mais constituent une ressource valorisable intégralement. C'est surtout grâce à des amis qui nous ont aidé, mais aussi grâce à nos correspondants, que la partie technique a été « épurée ». Compte tenu de ce fait, le système que nous avons baptisé TRAISELECT n'est plus d'actualité, puisque l'épuration est la pire des choses qu'on puisse faire avec les eaux usées. Nos techniques « épurées » sont plus simples, moins chères et plus efficaces. C'est cette version que nous offrons au public sur ce site. Il n'en est pas moins vrai que ces techniques, sont encore en pleine évolution.

Il est instructif de lire un témoignage venant d'Andalousie (Espagne) sur les bienfaits de l'Eautarcie en région sèche. Remarque de Joseph Országh : Ceux qui ont réalisé leur « eautarcie » en Andalousie n'ont pas encore pu intégrer le fait que les eaux grises, au lieu d'être épurées (avec des pertes énormes par évaporation), devraient servir à l'irrigation des plantes. Pourtant, c'est impératif dans une région aussi aride que l'Andalousie.

Première publication du texte de la présente page sur www.eautarcie.com : 2003

Adaptation du texte original et première publication de la présente page sur www.eautarcie.org : 2010-06-21

Mise à jour : 2016-10-08


Maisons en Eautarcie

Habitation autonome à Malonne (Belgique)

Habitation non raccordée aux égouts, ni au réseau de distribution d'eau. Avant le changement de propriétaire, outre les trois membres de la famille, la maison abritait un petit centre pour la pratique du yoga. Une des deux toilettes à litière était donc mise à la disposition des pratiquants, et acceptée sans le moindre problème.

Fiche technique:

Images


Vue de l’arrière de l’habitation, sur l’étang de finissage du système d'épuration


Implantation des citernes lors de la construction

Autre habitation à Malonne (Belgique)

Maison entièrement équipée du système EAUTARCIE.

La maison étant située en zone à épuration collective, l'administration communale a ordonné la mise hors service du système TRAISELECT et le raccordement de la maison à l'égout. L'égout en question – faute de station d'épuration – déversait ses eaux dans la rivière, sans aucune épuration. Après diverses tracasseries administratives, le fonctionnement du système d'épuration a été officieusement toléré, à titre provisoire. Problème rencontré: la difficulté d'infiltration des eaux épurées dans le sol à cause de la nappe phréatique à fleur du sol (la maison a été bâtie en zone inondable).

Fiche technique:

Images


On voit la tranchée végétale filtrante peu après son installation et l'étang de finissage. Au fil du temps cette tranchée abritera une végétation luxuriante.

Habitation urbaine à Mons (Belgique)

Habitation urbaine non raccordée aux égouts, ni au réseau de distribution d'eau.

Fiche technique:

Images



Vues de l’arrière de l’habitation


Toilette à litière biomaîtrisée,


Le coin de compostage, comportant un carré à compost comme 1ère étape, et un tas de compost pour l’étape de finissage


Étang de finissage du système d'épuration. On y voit les poissons. L'eau du trop-plein de l'étang répond aux normes européennes pour l'eau pouvant servir à la préparation de l'eau potable.

Habitation d'un sculpteur à Achenne en Brabant Wallon (Belgique)

Habitation appartenant à un sculpteur, équipée d’une installation TRAISELECT.

Après la suppression des WC, des TLB sont installées ainsi que le système complet d'épuration des eaux grises. Après quelques années de bon fonctionnement, la commune a décidé le placement d'égout dans la rue. Dès lors, le propriétaire a été invité à déconnecter son système d'épuration des eaux grises et se raccorder à l'égout. Après des tracasseries administratives, le système d'épuration a finalement été autorisé eu égard au fait qu'il ait été installé avant l'égout.

Avant l'autorisation accordée, des experts ont examiné le système. Dans leur rapport, ils signalaient que « l'eau rejetée par le système d'épuration ne répond pas aux normes de rejet » ce qui devait entraîner la mise hors-service du système. À l'époque, j'ai exigé l'examen du rapport, dont l'examen a révélé que les experts ont analysé l'eau sortant de la fosse à eaux grises et non pas celle qui sort de l'étang de finissage. Étant donné que la tranchée végétale aussi bien que l'étang de finissage étaient étanches vers le sol, le point final de rejet du système se trouvait au trop-plein de l'étang et non pas à la sorte du premier élément d'épuration (la fosse à eaux grises). Au trop-plein de l'étang, la qualité de l'eau rejetée était proche de celle de l'eau potable.

La tranchée végétale filtrante a été installée comme un petit ruisseau décoratif qui traverse le jardin. L'étang de finissage d'une vingtaine de m² se trouve au point bas du jardin. Son trop-plein se déverse dans un ruisseau temporaire naturel.

Problème rencontré: l'apparition d'un film mince bactérien sur l'eau de l'étang de finissage. Son origine n'a pu être établie. Après quelques mois, le film a disparu.

Images


Après la suppression des WC, des TLB ont été installées.



On voit la tranchée végétale filtrante (1ère image) serpenter vers l’étang de finissage
(2e et 3e image)

Camping de la Sablière près de la ville de Binche (Belgique)

Il s'agit d'un camping résidentiel avec des chalets en bois et des caravanes résidentielles.

Dans la salle (de réunions, de fêtes, de conférences, etc.) commune du camping, il y a un robinet qui délivre de l'eau de pluie rendue potable par microfiltration.

Dans le bâtiment qui abrite les douches et des lavabos, plusieurs toilettes à litière sont installées pour usage collectif. Une expérience qui consistait à rendre automatique le dosage de la litière a échoué. Toutefois les TLB classiques y donnent satisfaction au public. Des urinoirs à litière sont installés à plusieurs endroits du camping. Afin de limiter l'usage des toilettes chimiques, la direction fait payer les vidanges de ces toilettes. Par contre, les usagers des TLB reçoivent gratuitement la litière et peuvent déverser gratuitement les effluents de leurs TLB sur un tas de compost situé à un endroit facilement accessible à tous. En dépit de cette promotion, peu de campeurs ont adopté ces toilettes sèches.

Les eaux grises produites dans les chalets sont déversées dans une petite tranchée végétale filtrant, mais avec un fond non étanche. L'eau épurée et filtrée par les plantes s'infiltre dans le sol. L'épuration sélective des eaux des douches collectives et des lavabos se fait suivant le système TRAISELECT complet: fosse à eaux grises, tranchée végétale filtrante et étang de finissage. Ce dernier est un élément décoratif bien visible dès qu'on entre dans le Camping.

Images




Vue sur l’étang de finissage du système d'épuration en avril 2001 (1ère image) et en 2004 (2e et 3e images).


Infiltration des eaux grises dans le sol près de chaque caravane ou chalet.

Retour au plan du site

TOP

Accueil - Introduction - Assainissement Ecologique - La Valorisation de l'Eau de Pluie - Gestion des eaux grises - Toilettes Sèches - Eautarcie en Ville et dans le Monde - Gestion Conjointe de l'Eau et de la Biomasse - Réflexions sur les politiques de l’eau - Annexes