DeutschEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the world EnglishEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the world EspañolEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the world FrançaisEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the world MagyarEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the world NederlandsEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the world
Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh
Eautarcie EAUTARCIE Eautarcie- Joseph Országh
HomepageIntroductionEcological SanitationRainwater HarvestingGreywater ManagementDry ToiletsEautarcie Challenges WorldwideIntegrated Water and Biomass ManagementReflections on Water PoliciesSite Map - Glossary - FAQs - Downloads EAUTARCIE, Sustainable Water Management for the World
Homepage
Homepage

EAUTARCIE homes

Testimonial from Andalusia

Contact

Search a word within the website eautarcie.org 
Loading

After reading this testimonial, you will come to understand the potential of EAUTARCIE techniques. In a waterless environment, the PLUVALOR system has allowed water-demanding activities, which would have been otherwise impossible. The reader will also observe the cost of mistakes for drinking water when the principles behind the PLUVALOR system are not accepted outright. It is instructive to read tourist reactions to the BioLitter Toilet (BLT) in a country lodge.

Unfortunately, greywater is here being treated (with huge evaporation losses) when it should rather be used to water plants, without any prior treatment and without health risk. That is imperative in such a dry area as Andalusia.

To see examples of EAUTARCIE homes that are self-sufficient and self-contained in terms of water consumption, click here.

The EAUTARCIE website has been adapted and translated from the French version by André Leguerrier architect, Montreal, Canada.

The text within this page was first published in French on www.eautarcie.com: in 2009

The original text has since been adapted and first published in English on this page at www.eautarcie.org: 2010-06-24

Last update: 2016-10-23

Testimonial from Andalusia

Introduction

We’re located in the small Andalusian town of Villanueva de Tapia, but an hour’s distance from Grenada or the Malaga airport. It’s a completely isolated site, without mains water supply, electricity, sewers or telephones. We therefore had to take up the challenge of living autonomously while at the same time making the facility accessible to the public.

We can be contacted at:
http://ecogite-insolite-andalousie.over-blog.com/pages/Accueil-7594453.html

Our facilities currently accommodate camping in tents and lodging in yurts, a guesthouse, or in a studio.

The water table is located at a depth of 150 m and contains hard and brackish water. We have therefore given up on boring a well.

Andalusia’s inhabitants tend to say that it never rains, or that in any case, it doesn’t rain enough. This isn’t what we’ve observed. Even though we come from Northern Europe, we have noted that local rainfall is far from negligible, even if rain events are rather spread out irregularly throughout a year.

During the first year, rainfall totalled 15 to 35 litres per m². To catch this rainfall, we installed gutters on all available roofs. For lack of locally available concrete cisterns, we built our own masonry cistern, made watertight with a cement/lime mortar lining.

During our first winter, our 11-m³ cistern overflowed. It was obviously under-sized. This showed that the only realistic solution for us was to go the way of rainwater harvesting. We were therefore quite glad to abandon the chore of getting water from the neighbouring village to cover our domestic needs.

Thanks to the discovery of Professor Országh’s EAUTARCIE website, we came to understand that water autarky was at hand’s reach. This became our objective. Initially, in spite of the EAUTARCIE website’s recommendations, we were not wholly confident in our filtered rainwater’s potable quality. For lack of finding a lab to test this water, we continued to fill our bottles at the village springs for over a year.

It wasn’t until end of November 2008 that we finally found a pharmacy that could analyze our water. To our utter relief, the analysis of our rainwater was positive: it complied with Spain’s potable water standards.

Had we had faith from the start in the EAUTARCIE system, we could have been spared a year’s worth of water chore. We now fully agree with Mr. Országh when he asserts, « in the near future, the only available source of quality drinking water available to all will be rain ». This is already true in Andalusia.

For our autonomy (family + visitors), we have already installed a cistern storage capacity of close to 40 m³, which still seems a bit short to catch the entirety of rainfall on our roofs. This is probably due to the rainfall’s irregularity.


Typical Andalusian topography

Technical Characteristics of our Set-up

Roof Area

House: 75 m², solar panels: 7,2 m², small miscellaneous roofs: 6 m², large guesthouse: 25,38 m². for a total of 114 m².

Water Storage

Water is stored in many cisterns:

For a total storage capacity of 39 m³, of which 31 m³ is directly connected to the roofs.

Equipment


The 11-m³ masonry cistern during construction


The sedimentation basin upstream from the cistern

Greywater Purification

From the Studio

Greywater produced by the studio goes through a grease-trap laden with straw, then into a tank formed by a concrete cylinder measuring 1 m deep by 80 cm diameter. The wastewater settles at the bottom. The overflow drains into a second tank from which the water is pumped to be stored in a cistern that is used to moisten the compost and water the vegetable garden and olive trees.

From the Guesthouse

The guesthouse greywater goes through three planted filtering basins (with aquatic plants), with a 40-cm gradient level difference between each successive basin. In each one, the wastewater must percolate upwards through 4 layers of mineral aggregates. Each basin contains a layer of larger stones, covered with a layer of volcanic rock, and than a layer of small gravel, and finally a layer of sand. The plants that line each basin were taken from the shore of a small creek at the bottom of our terrain.

Water from the fourth basin is used for irrigation.


Greywater filtering basins

Analysis of our Filtered Rainwater

Parameters Units Values Drinking Water Standards
Colour   0,2 No standard
Odour   Normal of 3 at 25°C No standard
Turbidity FNU 2 <1
Conductivity µS/cm 163,6 <400
pH - 7,53 6,5 to 9,5
Ammonium (NH4+) mg/litre 0,017 <0,5
Nitrite ions (NO2-) mg/litre 0,020 <0,5

Total germs

     
at 22°C
at 37°C

Ufc/ml
Ufc/ml

40
38
<100
<100
Escherichia coli Ufc/ml None found No standard
Total coliforms Ufc/ml None found No standard
Faecal coliforms Ufc/ml None found No standard

Testimonials from our Guests on Water and Dry Toilets

  1. After their stay at our facility, a couple with three children aged 3, 6 and 9 years old decided to remove their flush toilets at home, to replace them with litter toilets.
  2. A father raising his two kids aged 9 and 15 years old asked me to make his children better aware of their water and energy consumption. He said: « When counselled by strangers rather than their parents, children tend to listen better and are more mindful, lending such counsels a greater impact ». In his opinion, measuring water consumption at the start and at the end of their stay was a good idea. Thus, you can calculate the average daily consumption per person, and even monitor water use on a daily basis if you so choose. I also explained the simple yet responsible gestures that could be carried out daily towards energy savings. The father, who lives in Paris, having already read about litter toilets wished to follow up on this and help his children discover the environment.
  3. One couple came to realize that anyone could shower with three litres of water, enough to fill two 1.5-litre flasks.
  4. A couple with two children aged 4 and 5 insisted on coming to our facility to make them better aware of the need to save water. Their kids usually let the faucet flow while brushing their teeth, let the water flow when showering and never shut out the lights when leaving a room. After less than three days at our lodgings, the children came to understand the importance of these issues, and their mom was utterly satisfied.
  5. Another couple arrived with two children. The husband wanted to install litter toilets at home, against his wife’s wishes. The « opponents » were astonished to observe that at temperatures above 35°C, there were no flies or odours in the toilet, and no more so around the compost heap.

Concerning dry toilets, the absence of odours seems to be the decisive argument for most families.


Our guests’ dry toilet (litter toilet)

Drinking Water

After arriving in Spain, we strictly purchased bottled water to renew our store of water flasks. During the first year, these were used to carry (chlorinated) mains water taken up at the village taps.

After some time of using mains water, we opted to take our drinking water from a spring that was pointed out by village elders; a spring that delivered fresh water that appeared to be of good quality. We preferred this water, in spite of the fact that it was officially declared « non potable ».

The next summer, « our spring » became a trickle of water. We therefore had to find another spring further away. As expected, the second spring was also declared « non potable ». This did not prevent us to take our water there. Spaniard women also did. This spring’s water had a pleasant taste, but it made us go to the toilet quite often.

Intrigued by this water’s sanitary side effects, we asked that the communal authorities analyse it. Thus we learned that both springs delivered water containing a nitrate content exceeding the legal limit of 50 mg/l.

On the same occasion, I had our rainwater analysed by a pharmacy, with the positive results mentioned above. It’s sad to say, but we waited over more than a year before realizing that our harvested rainwater was of far better quality than mains water supply, but also better than the village springs. We are now wholly convinced and decided to drink our filtered rainwater. Having good quality drinking water is possible with simple means.

A Few Examples of Water Concerns in Andalusia

Encouraged by our experience, we got interested in the neighbouring town’s water problems. I thus learned that nitrates gravely polluted our region’s water table. The town’s inhabitants are supplied with potable water transported by tank trucks.

This same scenario could be occurring in other Andalusian villages, due to intensive agriculture. Already now, water shortages have progressively set-in: some towns are rationed without water for periods extending up to 15 days.

During our summer excursions, we decided to go see Lake « Pantano del Agujero » near Malaga. Upon our arrival, in spite of the road signs indicating where to find the lake, no stretch of water could be found. Questioned, a Spanish passer-by told us that were effectively near the lake shown on the map. But in lieu of water, a deep vegetation-strewn valley could be seen. Which lent us to believe that there hadn’t been water in this reservoir for quite some time.

This lake/reservoir/dam was supposed to provide drinking water for parts of the provinces of Seville and Cordova. Franco had created it in 1979.


Pantano del Agujero – all dried up

My Answers to a Survey for an Ecotourist Vacation Guide – on the Question of Water

Do you use low-flow faucets and showerheads?

Yes, even though the hot water heater doesn’t allow a flow of more than 5 litres of water per minute.

Do you have dual-flush or low flush WC toilets?

We have no flush toilets, only litter toilets that require wood shavings instead of water, with the use of reclaimed millwork residues.

Do you have a rainwater harvesting system?

Yes. Each square meter of roof is used to harvest rainwater. It’s our only source of water. We have no other alternative, but it suffices. We never lack water.

Do you have a greywater recycling system?

Yes. The entirety of greywater produced is purified and reused to water the vegetable garden, the orchard, and to moisten our compost heap. We cannot allow for wastage of water, which is so precious in Andalusia.

The treated greywater is stored in a cistern. Thus, it’s available when we need it.

Have you taken other measures, not mentioned above, to reduce or manage your water consumption?

Upon their arrival, our guests are informed that the buildings are not serviced by a public distribution system. We also underline that there is no well or spring on our land. All water used comes from rainwater cisterns.

Water being scarce, saving it becomes self-explanatory. If the cisterns were to dry up, we would have to get water from the village. This would be expensive for everyone.

This explains the installation of a water meter, which helps us monitor consumption and manage our reserves. At our facility, hands-on experience is the way of learning the daily gestures of proper water use. It’s an excellent school of responsible management that one can practice at home, back from vacation.

Calculating a person’s daily water requirements is not only a precious indicator to help adjust one’s behaviour, but is also a fun arithmetic activity, mainly for children, when applied to ecological living.

Our guests are sometimes surprised to learn that their daily water consumption for personal hygiene levels out at about 20 litres per day per person. This is less than half of what they use up at home. The kitchen requires about 5 litres per day per person. I also tell them that were they to install a litter toilet at home, they would reduce their water bill by about 30 %.

At our facility, a vacation is also an initiation to ecology.

By Véronique
Villanueva de Tapia, January 25 2009.

TOP

Home - Introduction - Ecological Sanitation - Rainwater Harvesting - Greywater Management - Dry Toilets - Challenges Worldwide - Integrated Management - Reflections on Water Policies - Site Map – Glossary – FAQs – Downloads

DeutschEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeEnglishEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeEspañolEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeFrançaisEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeItalianoEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeMagyarEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeNederlandsEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le monde
Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh
Eautarcie EAUTARCIE Eautarcie- Joseph Országh
AccueilIntroductionAssainissement EcologiqueValorisation de l'Eau de PluieGestion des eaux grisesToilettes SèchesEautarcie en Ville et dans le Mondegestion Conjointe de l'Eau et de la BiomasseRéflexions sur les politiques de l’eauPlan du site – Lexique – FAQ – Documentation La gestion durable de l'eau dans le monde
Accueil
Présentation

Maisons en Eautarcie

Témoignage venant d'Andalousie

Le caca, c'est pas de la merde

Contact

Actualités

Recherche d'un terme
sur le site eautarcie.org 
Loading

En lisant ce témoignage, on réalise les possibilités qu'offre l'installation des techniques de l'EAUTARCIE. Dans un environnement sans ressources en eau, le système PLUVALOR a permis des activités demandant de l'eau, autrement impossibles. Le lecteur réalisera aussi le coût des erreurs commises lors de l'approvisionnement en eau potable lorsque l’on n’accepte pas le principe du système PLUVALOR. Il est instructif de lire les réactions des touristes vis-à-vis de la TLB (toilette à litière biomaîtrisée) dans un gîte rural.

Malheureusement, ceux qui ont réalisé ce système n'ont pas intégré le fait que les eaux grises, au lieu d'être épurées (avec des pertes énormes par évaporation), devraient servir à l'irrigation des plantes, sans le moindre traitement préalable et sans risques sanitaires. Ce type de traitement devient impératif dans une région aussi aride que l'Andalousie.

Pour voir des maisons en « EAUTARCIE », cliquez ici.

Première publication du texte de la présente page sur www.eautarcie.com : 2009

Adaptation du texte original et première publication de la présente page sur www.eautarcie.org : 2010-06-21

Mise à jour : 2016-10-08

 

 


Un témoignage venant d'Andalousie

Introduction

Nous sommes installés en Andalousie dans le petit village de Villanueva de Tapia, à moins d'une heure de l'aéroport de Malaga et de Grenade. C'est un site complètement isolé, sans eau de distribution, ni électricité, égouts ou téléphone. Il a donc fallu relever le défi pour y vivre de façon autonome, mais aussi pour pouvoir ouvrir nos portes au public.

Pour nous rejoindre, contacter :
http://ecogite-insolite-andalousie.over-blog.com/pages/Accueil-7594453.html

Nous offrons actuellement la possibilité de planter une tente, loger dans une yourte, dans une chambre d'hôte ou dans un studio.

La nappe phréatique étant située à plus de 150 m de profondeur, contenant une eau calcaire et saumâtre, nous avons renoncé à forer un puits.

En Andalousie, les habitants ont tendance à dire qu'il ne pleut jamais et de toute façon, pas assez. Tel n'était pas notre constat. Même en venant d'Europe du Nord, force est de constater qu'ici, la pluviosité est loin d'être négligeable, bien que les pluies soient réparties sur l'année d'une manière plus irrégulière.

A la première année, nous avons eu des averses de 15 à 35 litres au m². Afin de capter les précipitations, nous avons équipé de gouttières tous les toits disponibles. Faute de trouver des citernes en béton, nous en avons construite une. Elle est maçonnée et rendue étanche par un mortier ciment/chaux.

Au premier hiver, notre citerne de 11 m³ a débordé. Elle était, de toute évidence, sous-dimensionnée. Cela nous a montré que pour nous, la seule solution réaliste est la récupération de l'eau de pluie. Nous étions donc heureux d'abandonner la corvée de chercher de l'eau au village voisin pour couvrir nos besoins domestiques.

Grâce à la découverte du site EAUTARCIE du Professeur Országh, nous avons réalisé que l'autonomie d'eau était à notre portée. C'est ce qui est devenu notre objectif. En dépit des recommandations du site EAUTARCIE, au départ, nous n'avons pas fait confiance à la qualité potable de notre eau filtrée. Faute de trouver un laboratoire pour analyser cette eau, nous avons continué à remplir nos bouteilles aux sources du village pendant un an.

Ce n'est que fin novembre 2008 que nous avons pu trouver une pharmacie pour analyser l'eau. A notre grand soulagement, l'analyse de notre eau de pluie filtrée était positive: elle répondait aux normes espagnoles pour l'eau potable.

En faisant confiance, dès le départ, au système EAUTARCIE, nous aurions pu épargner au moins une année de corvée d'eau potable. Nous sommes à présent pleinement d'accord avec Monsieur Országh quand il affirme que « dans un avenir proche, la seule source d'eau potable de qualité disponible à tous, sera la pluie ». C'est déjà vrai en Andalousie.

Pour notre autonomie (famille + visiteurs), nous avons déjà installé une capacité de stockage de près de 40 m³ qui semble être encore trop petit pour stocker la totalité de l'eau qui tombe sur le toit. Probablement à cause de l'irrégularité des précipitations.


Paysage typique de l'Andalousie.

Caractéristiques techniques de notre installation

Surface de toiture

Maison: 75 m², panneaux solaires: 7,2 m², petits toits divers: 6 m², grand chalet: 25,38 m². Soit un total de 114 m².

Stockage de l’eau

Il se fait dans plusieurs citernes:

Soit un total de capacité de stockage de 39 m³, dont 31 m³ est relié directement aux toits.

Équipement


Citerne de 11m3 pendant la construction


Bassin de décantation en amont de la citerne

Épuration des eaux grises

Venant du studio

Les eaux grises produites au studio passent dans un bac dégraisseur garni de pailles, puis dans une cuve formée d'un cylindre en béton de 1 m de profondeur et de 80 cm de diamètre. Les matières s'y déposent dans le fond. Le trop-plein s'écoule dans une deuxième cuve d'où l'eau est pompée pour être stockée dans une citerne qui servira à humidifier le compost et à irriguer le potager et les oliviers.

Les eaux du chalet

Les eaux grises du chalet passent à travers trois bassins filtrants plantés (plantes aquatiques) ayant un dénivelé de 40 cm de bassin en bassin. Dans chaque bassin, l'eau à épurer monte du bas vers le haut pour traverser 4 couches de minéraux. Chaque bassin contient une couche de gros cailloux, couverte d'une couche de roche volcanique, puis de petits graviers et finalement, une couche de sable. Les plantes du garnissage ont été prises au bord du ruisseau en bas de notre terrain.

L'eau du quatrième bassin sert pour l'irrigation.


Bassins filtrants des eaux grises

Analyse de notre eau de pluie filtrée

Paramètres Unités Valeurs Normes pour l'eau potable
Couleur   0,2 Pas de norme
Odeur   Normal de 3 à 25°C Pas de norme
Turbidité FNU 2 <1
Conductivité µS/cm 163,6 <400
pH - 7,53 6,5 à 9,5
Ammonium (NH4+) mg/litre 0,017 <0,5
Ions nitrites (NO2-) mg/litre 0,020 <0,5
Germes totaux      
à 22°C
à 37°C

Ufc/ml
Ufc/ml

40
38
<100
<100
Escherichia coli Ufc/ml absence Pas de norme
Coliformes totaux Ufc/ml absence Pas de norme
Coliformes fécaux Ufc/ml absence Pas de norme

Témoignages de nos hôtes sur l’eau et les toilettes sèches

  1. Suite à leur passage chez nous, un couple avec ses trois enfants âgés de 3, de 6 et de 9 ans ont décidé de supprimer leurs WC à chasse chez eux, pour les remplacer par des toilettes à litière.
  2. Un papa vivant seul avec ses deux enfants de 9 et de 15 ans m'a demandé de sensibiliser les enfants à leur consommation en eau et en énergies. « Si les conseils ne viennent pas des parents, les enfants sont plus à l'écoute, ils sont plus attentifs et cela a plus de poids » - disait-il. A son avis, relever les consommations au compteur à l'arrivée et au départ est une bonne idée. Ainsi, on peut calculer la consommation moyenne par jour et par personne et même la suivre de jour en jour si on le souhaite. J'ai aussi expliqué les gestes simples et responsables pour les économies d'énergies. Le papa, qui vit à Paris, avait déjà entendu parler des toilettes à litière et voulait passer à l'action et faire découvrir notre environnement à ses enfants.
  3. Un couple s'est rendu compte que chacun pouvait se doucher avec trois litres d'eau; de quoi remplir deux flacons de 1,5 litre.
  4. Un couple avec deux enfants (de 4 ans et demi et 5 ans et demi) a tenu à venir chez nous pour sensibiliser les enfants aux économies d'eau. Ceux-ci laissent habituellement couler l'eau du robinet en se brossant les dents, laissent couler l'eau de la douche et n'éteignent pas les lumières en quittant une pièce. Chez nous, après moins de trois jours, les enfants ont compris l'importance des économies et leur maman était très satisfaite.
  5. Un couple est arrivé chez nous avec deux enfants. Le mari voulait installer des toilettes à litière à la maison, contre l'avis de son épouse et de ses enfants. Les « opposants » étaient étonnés de constater que même à une température supérieure à 35°C, il n'y avait ni mouches, ni odeurs dans la toilette, pas plus que près du tas de compost.

Concernant les toilettes sèches, l'absence d'odeur semble être l'argument décisif pour la plupart des familles.


Toilette sèche des hôtes

L'eau de boisson

Dès notre arrivée en Espagne, nous n'achetions de l'eau en bouteilles que pour renouveler notre lot de flacons pour le stockage. Pendant la première année, ces flacons ont servi à transporter l'eau (chlorée) de distribution prélevée à un robinet public au village.

Après un certain temps de consommation de l'eau de distribution, nous avons préféré prélever l'eau pour la boisson à une source, signalée par les anciens du village, délivrant de l'eau fraîche et apparemment de bonne qualité. Nous avons préféré cette eau, en dépit du fait qu’officiellement, elle était déclarée « non potable ».

L'été suivant, le débit de « notre source » est devenu un mince filet. Il a donc fallu nous approvisionner à une autre source située plus loin. Comme il se doit, l'eau de cette source était aussi déclarée « non potable ». Cela ne nous a pas empêché d'y prélever l'eau. Les Espagnoles en faisaient autant. L'eau de cette source avait un goût agréable, mais elle nous a fait énormément aller à la toilette.

Intriguée par les effets sanitaires de cette eau, j'ai demandé une analyse auprès de l'administration communale. C'est ainsi que nous avons appris que les deux sources délivraient une eau dont la teneur en nitrates dépassait la limite légale de 50 mg/l.

Par la même occasion, j'ai aussi fait analyser notre eau de pluie par un pharmacien, avec les résultats signalés plus haut. C'est triste à dire, mais il a donc fallu attendre plus d'un an pour réaliser que la qualité de l'eau de notre citerne était de loin supérieure à celle de l'eau de distribution, mais aussi celle des sources du village. Nous sommes à présent convaincus et décidés à boire notre eau de pluie filtrée. Disposer donc de l'eau potable de qualité est possible avec des moyens simples.

Quelques exemples sur la problématique de l'eau en Andalousie

Fort de notre expérience, nous avons fini par s'intéresser aux problèmes d'eau des villages voisins. J'ai donc appris que la nappe phréatique située dans la zone était gravement polluée par les nitrates. Les habitants sont approvisionnés en eau potable par des camions citernes.

Ce même scénario pourrait se passer dans d'autres villages andalous, suite à une agriculture intensive. Déjà actuellement, la pénurie d'eau s'installe progressivement: certains villages sont privés d'eau pendant des périodes allant jusqu'à 15 jours.

Lors d'une de nos excursions estivales, nous avons décidé d'aller voir le lac « Pantano del Agujero » près de Malaga. A l'arrivée sur les lieux, en dépit d'une inscription murale « Pantano del Agujero » aucun plan d'eau n'était visible. Interrogé, un passant espagnol nous a confirmé le fait que nous soyons bel et bien près du lac signalé sur la carte. En lieu et place de l'eau, une vallée profonde s'offrait à nos yeux avec une végétation dans le fond. Ce qui nous laisse croire que depuis longtemps, il n'y a plus d'eau dans ce réservoir.

Ce lac/réservoir/barrage devrait servir, en principe, à l'alimentation en eau potable pour une partie de la province de Séville et de Cordoue. Il avait été créé en 1979 par Franco.

Quelques questions auxquelles j'ai répondu lors d'une enquête menée pour le compte d'un guide de vacances écologiques, au sujet de l'eau

Avez-vous des robinets ou pommeaux de douche à faible débit?

Oui, bien que le chauffe-bain au gaz ne permette le passage que de 5 litres d'eau par minute.

Avez-vous des WC à deux vitesses ou à basse consommation d'eau?

Nous n'avons aucun WC à chasse d'eau, mais uniquement des toilettes à litière qui, au lieu de l'eau, consomment des copeaux de bois. C'est du déchet de menuiserie que nous récupérons.

Avez-vous un système de récupération d'eau de pluie?

Oui. Chaque mètre carré de toit est mis à contribution pour la récolte de l'eau de pluie. C'est notre seule source d'eau. Nous n'avons pas d'autre alternative, mais cela nous suffit. Nous ne manquons jamais d'eau.

Avez-vous un système de recyclage des eaux grises?

Oui. La totalité des eaux grises produites sont épurées et servent pour irriguer le potager, le verger et aussi pour humidifier notre tas de compost. Nous ne pouvons pas nous permettre le gaspillage de cette eau, si précieuse en Andalousie.

L'eau grise épurée est stockée dans une citerne. De ce fait, elle est disponible quand nous en avons besoin.

Avez-vous pris d'autres mesures, qui ne figurent pas ci-dessus, pour réduire ou gérer votre consommation d'eau?

Dès leur arrivée, nos hôtes sont informés de l'absence de raccordement des bâtiments au réseau de distribution public. Nous leur signalons également le fait qu'il n'y a ni puits, ni source sur notre terrain. Toute l'eau utilisée provient des citernes à eau de pluie.

La quantité étant limitée, l'économie d'eau s'impose d'elle-même. Si les citernes devaient tomber à sec, il faudrait chercher l'eau dans le village, ce qui coûterait cher pour tous.

C'est ce qui justifie le placement d'un compteur d'eau qui nous aide à surveiller la consommation et de gérer le stock. Chez nous, les gestes de bon usage de l'eau s'apprennent par l'expérience vécue. C'est une bonne école de gestion responsable que l'on peut également pratiquer chez soi, au retour des vacances.

Le calcul de la consommation quotidienne par personne est non seulement une indication précieuse pour ajuster son comportement, mais aussi, surtout pour les enfants, une activité ludique d'arithmétique appliquée à l'écologie au quotidien.

Nos hôtes sont parfois surpris d'apprendre que leur consommation pour l'hygiène personnelle finit par s'établir autour de 20 litres par jour par personne. C'est moins que la moitié consommée à la maison. La cuisine ne consomme que 5 litres par jour par personne. Je leur dis également que le placement d'une toilette à litière chez eux, réduirait la facture d'eau d'environ 30 %.

Chez nous les vacances, c'est aussi une initiation à l'écologie.

Par Véronique
Villanueva de Tapia, le 25 janvier 2009.

TOP

Accueil - Introduction - Assainissement Ecologique - La Valorisation de l'Eau de Pluie - Gestion des eaux grises - Toilettes Sèches - Eautarcie en Ville et dans le Monde - Gestion Conjointe de l'Eau et de la Biomasse - Réflexions sur les politiques de l’eau - Annexes