DeutschEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the worldEnglishEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the worldEspañolEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the worldFrançaisEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the worldItalianoEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the worldMagyarEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the worldNederlandsEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the world
Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh
Eautarcie EAUTARCIE Eautarcie- Joseph Országh
HomepageIntroductionEcological SanitationRainwater HarvestingGreywater ManagementDry ToiletsEautarcie Challenges WorldwideIntegrated Management of Water and BiomassReflections on Water PoliciesSite Map - Glossary - FAQs - Downloads EAUTARCIE, Sustainable Water Management for the World
Rainwater Harvesting
Rainwater Harvesting for Whole-House Reuse

Rainwater Quality
Water for General Household Use
Biocompatible Water

About Hydrogen Water

The meaning of ORP

Chlorine and UV Sterilization

Implementing the PLUVALOR System
Cistern Use and Maintenance
Filtration Systems
The PLUVALOR System on the Market
Search a word within the website eautarcie.org 
Loading

The EAUTARCIE site is not tied to any commercial activity. The information provided herein is included strictly to help the public find the necessary materials and equipment towards realizing their EAUTARCIE system. To help us improve this information service, we invite all readers who have dealt with merchants herein mentioned to let us know their degree of satisfaction. To help us expand this list, all information on the existence of merchants who have adopted the EAUTARCIE philosophy and ethical practices propounded herein are welcomed.

The text within this page was first published on www.eautarcie.com : in 2006

The original text has been adapted and translated in English by André Leguerrier and was first published on this page at www.eautarcie.org : 2009-10-01

Last update : 2015-07-25

The PLUVALOR System on the Market

With the instructions and recommendations given on this website, one can successfully implement a PLUVALOR system without needing to consult a rainwater harvesting «specialist». Concrete tanks, pumps, well pumps systems, 25-, 10- and 5-micron filters, reverse osmosis and activated carbon ceramic filters are all available on the market. Be careful not to get influenced by salesmen who know nothing of the PLUVALOR system. Yet it stands that these salesmen have the right equipment for your needs.

Most rainwater harvesting suppliers are ignorant of all the possibilities of whole-house reuse for rainwater. They will propose expensive equipment unsuited to the PLUVALOR system. Therefore read very discriminately all literature on rainwater.

To our knowledge, the Belgian chapter of Friends of the Earth International is the only organization that defends the environmental precepts on sustainable water management as propounded on this website. Their permanent staff is available to adequately counsel potential builders and other interested parties (in Belgium) in the field of whole-house rainwater harvesting and wastewater management.
Contact: Friends of the Earth (Belgium), Tel.: 0032.81.40.14.78,
Email: ter-amikaro@tiscalinet.be

Where to buy PLUVALOR components

In Belgium and France

(Free publicity) Dellan & Co. sells equipment for whole-house rainwater recycling. Dellan also services France. Their material includes pumps, filters, aquarium aerators, water level indicators for the cistern (water tank level gauges), leaf interceptors, floating strainers. You can also purchase the needed equipment to make drinking water from rainwater.
Two systems are marketed: the AQUASAIN system (ceramic microfiltration) and reverse osmosis.
Address: 74, route d'Ath, B-7020 Nimy in Belgium. Tel.: 0032.65.77.85.21 or 0496.507.505. Email: info@dellan.be or dellan@skynet.be.
Website: http://www.dellan.be/:
contact : Philippe Delmeule.

(Free publicity) Getting your cistern installed can be done by BELOT, 27, rue du Caillou, B-7063 Chaussée Notre-Dame. Tel.: (32)67.45.81.11.
Email: entbelot@scarlet.be.

(Free publicity) Is'eau Énergie appears to adhere to the philosophy behind the EAUTARCIE website.
Contact: http://www.iseauenergie.net

(Free publicity) SALUBREM also sells materials for whole-house rainwater recycling.
Contact: http://www.salubrem.net/ .

Worldwide

The PLUVALOR system is poorly known outside of French-speaking Europe and my native Hungary, yet you will find most of what you need in most regions to realize a PLUVALOR setup.

How to deal with a rainwater harvesting equipment supplier

Merchants who sell equipment for home water management must comply with the law. In France for example, it is compulsory to use potable water for every single use in the house. Short of encouraging civil disobedience, I must point out the incoherent laws and inadequate water legislations in existence. In some cases, the techniques recommended AND imposed, like disinfection by chlorination or UV irradiation can be justifiably considered as a breach on public health.

When consulting a supplier, you will often hear recommendations on placing activated carbon filters and especially UV lamps in the household's water network for all water uses. Don't be too easily impressed by a « green » set speech about rainwater harvesting when the supplier or merchant recommends using rainwater for the water-closet, garden and laundry. You can be certain he ignores the latest scientific developments about rainwater recycling, or for personal reasons, he prefers not to acknowledge the sustainable water management principles of whole-house rainwater reuse. He will have you spend lots of money on an inappropriate solution. And I am not even speaking of the totally inadequate environmental approach of the industry.

Activated carbon is called upon to eliminate micro-pollutants (pesticide residues, hydrocarbons) and cistern odours. For sanitary use in a rainwater harvesting system, the experience of thousands of households has shown that this type of filter is not necessary. Odours are controlled – in the great majority of cases – by the aquarium aerator recommended herein. This equipment does not even have to work all the time. Many users never have to turn it on.

Yet in some specific cases, you may have to resort to activated carbon filtration in the home's main rainwater plumbing network (the one that delivers safe domestic water for non-food uses). This may be necessary, for example, to screen odours from rainwater harvested on certain types of synthetic roofs, where aeration of the cistern doesn't work. Otherwise, contrary to recommendations by most merchants, you needn't install an activated carbon filter on the main rainwater plumbing network. If you have problems with odours, consult your supplier on the purchase cost of such a filter when compared to its annual operating cost (i.e. filter changes).

Certain merchants also recommend filtering all water used by the household down to 5 microns, even to 1 micron. This is not really necessary, while at the same time being expensive. One and 5-micron filters tend to block up very quickly. They require frequent maintenance without proven practical use. On the contrary: the weaker a filter's porosity, the greater the pressure loss and the weaker the water flow will be. In practice, water filtered at 25 to 30 microns, followed by a second filtering down to 10 microns satisfies all non-food requirements. A 10-micron filter provides clear water. Such a filter placed in the home's plumbing network filters a considerable amount of impurities. In some city water fed homes for instance, a 10-micron filter placed right after the water meter is saturated with impurities within two weeks.

I must also insist: for rainwater, no UV lamp is required to disinfect the water: a ceramic filter or reverse osmosis unit suffices. You absolutely do not need a water conditioner to filter out calcium, nitrates, etc. nor filters against iron and/or heavy metals. You must never forget that these filters were not designed for rainwater, but for city water.

Nowadays, you will find so-called «miraculous» filtration systems coming from America. One should consider that tap water found there is often of poor quality and is some cases declared as non potable. For the populations concerned, this is a good thing, in a way, because the distribution of non-potable water that yet remains relatively safe and harmless greatly reduces the cost of water. Such water is suitable for all domestic purposes, except for drinking and food. Many Americans drink mostly bottled water, or their homes are equipped with a system to produce drinking water from tap water. The water filtration apparatuses imported from the United States are extremely expensive as they are suitable for treating non-potable water distribution that usually contains heavy metals, nitrates and other substances. This is a less extensive problem in Europe.

So don’t get influenced by a sales pitch listing all the undesirable impurities that the device can eliminate in the water. In Europe, many of these are not present, such as bacteria, or in much lesser quantities, such as heavy metals or nitrates.

Be wary of dealers asserting their devices produce «energized», «dynamized» , «ionized» or «living» water from tap water. When these devices don’t alter the chemical composition of water, they are probably irrelevant, and yet always very expensive. In the overwhelming majority of cases, a simple, inexpensive activated carbon filter gives the same result : a substantial improvement in the water’s taste. If in doubt, the EAUTARCIE team will kindly provide you with useful advice.

TOP

Home - Introduction - Ecological Sanitation - Rainwater Harvesting - Greywater Management - Dry Toilets - Challenges Worldwide - Integrated Management - Reflections on Water Policies - Site Map – Glossary – FAQs – Downloads

DeutschEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeEnglishEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeEspañolEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeFrançaisEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeItalianoEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeMagyarEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeNederlandsEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le monde
Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh
Eautarcie EAUTARCIE Eautarcie- Joseph Országh
AccueilIntroductionAssainissement EcologiqueValorisation de l'Eau de PluieGestion des eaux grisesToilettes SèchesEautarcie en Ville et dans le Mondegestion Conjointe de l'Eau et de la BiomasseRéflexions sur les politiques de l’eauPlan du site – Lexique – FAQ – Documentation La gestion durable de l'eau dans le monde
Valorisation de l'Eau de Pluie
Valorisation intégrale d'eau de pluie

Qualité d'eau de pluie

Eau à usage non alimentaire

Eau biocompatible

Les eaux hydrogénées

Sur la notion du rH2

Chlore et irradiation UV

Mise en place de PLUVALOR

Entretien et utilisation de citerne

Systèmes de filtration

Système PLUVALOR dans le commerce

Recherche d'un terme
sur le site eautarcie.org 
Loading

Le site EAUTARCIE n'est lié à aucune activité commerciale. Les renseignements ci-inclus sont donnés dans le but d'aider le public à trouver le matériel nécessaire à la réalisation du système EAUTARCIE. Afin d'améliorer ce service d'information, j'invite tous ceux qui ont pris contact avec les commerçants cités de nous signaler leur degré de satisfaction. Afin d'élargir cette liste, je souhaiterais également être informé de l'existence d'autres commerçants qui ont adopté la même philosophie et éthique commerciales que celles qui motivent les considérations développées sur ce site.

Pour les aspects plus techniques, après lecture du présent chapitre, vous pouvez aussi consulter le site: ec-eau-logis. Les solutions techniques préconisées dans ces pages sont à la portée d'un bon bricoleur..

Première publication du texte de la présente page sur www.eautarcie.com : 2006

Adaptation du texte original et première publication de la présente page sur www.eautarcie.org : 2009-09-07

Mise à jour : 2015-09-19


Le système PLUVALOR dans le commerce

Préambule

Avec les indications données sur ce site, vous pouvez parfaitement réaliser le système PLUVALOR, sans avoir recours à une entreprise «spécialisée» dans la valorisation de l'eau de pluie. Des citernes en béton, des pompes, groupes hydrophores, filtres de 25, de 10 et de 5 microns, ainsi que des filtres céramiques avec charbon actif et aussi des appareils à osmose inverse sont disponibles dans le commerce courant. Attention, ne vous laissez pas influencer par un vendeur qui ne connaît pas le système PLUVALOR. Il n'en est pas moins vrai que ces vendeurs disposent, entre autres, du matériel qui vous convient.

A notre connaissance, Les Amis de la Terre Belgique est le seul organisme de défense de l'environnement qui a adopté la philosophie de gestion durable de l'eau exposée sur ce site. Leur permanence est disponible au public pour conseiller valablement les candidats bâtisseurs et les autres dans le domaine de la valorisation de l'eau de pluie et de la gestion des eaux usées.
Contact: Amis de la Terre, tél.: 32(0)81.39.06.39

Nos correspondants français nous ont signalés que les systèmes de filtration et les citernes à eau de pluie coûtent 30 à 50% plus cher en France qu'en Belgique. Avant d'entreprendre les travaux d'aménagement pour le système EAUTARCIE, il est intéressant de faire un tour en Belgique au Salon Valériane, organisé par Nature & Progrès qui a lieu chaque année durant le premier W-E du mois de septembre à Namur.
Contact: http://www.valeriane.be/contact.html 520, rue de Dave, B-5100, Belgique.
Courriel: info@natpro.be. Nombreux sont les commerçants belges qui livrent aussi leur matériel en France.

Pour la production d'eau potable, le « maître-achat » du moment (2015) est un appareil à osmose inverse vendu pour aquariums. Cet appareil contient les mêmes éléments filtrant que les systèmes à osmose inverse les plus chers. Son inconvénient est l'absence de ballon d'accumulation. De ce fait l'eau filtrée qui coule à mince filet doit être accumulée dans une tourie, avec le risque de débordement en cas d'oubli. Un bon plombier peut cependant équiper cet appareil d'un ballon d'accumulation.

Commerçants qui connaissent le système PLUVALOR

(PUBLICITÉ GRATUITE)

En Belgique

La société Dellan & Co vend du matériel pour la valorisation intégrale de l'eau de pluie. Dellan livre son matériel en France également. Il s'agit de pompes, filtres, aérateurs d'aquarium, mesure du niveau d'eau dans la citerne (dépressiomètre pour la mesure du niveau d'eau dans la citerne), filtre à feuilles, crépine flottante. On peut y acheter du matériel pour rendre potable l'eau de pluie. Deux systèmes y sont commercialisés: le système AQUASAIN (par microfiltration sur céramique) et le système à osmose inverse. Adresse: 74, route d'Ath, B-7020 Nimy en Belgique. Tél.: 0032.65.77.85.21 ou 0496.507.505.
Courriel: info@dellan.be ou dellan@skynet.be
Site: http://www.dellan.be/
Contact : Philippe Delmeule.

Le placement de citernes peut être assuré, entre autres, par BELOT, 27, rue du Caillou, B-7063 Chaussée Notre-Dame. Tél.: (32)67.45.81.11,
courriel: entbelot@scarlet.be.

En France

La société Is'eau énergie semble suivre la philosophie des pages du site EAUTARCIE et vend tout le matériel nécessaire pour la valorisation de l’eau de pluie.
Contact: http://www.iseauenergie.net

Il en va de même de la société OPTIMEAU qui travaille en réseau avec Is’eau. En outre, ses citernes en béton spécifiquement destinées à l’eau de pluie («Cuves Bulles») semblent fabriquées de façon écoresponsable dans le but de fournir une eau de pluie à la consommation (par exemple, l’usage d’huile de démoulage végétale lors de leur fabrication). Par ailleurs, OPTIMEAU a développé et mis en marché le premier intercepteur de premier flot européen («Sélecteau») offrant ainsi une alternative à l’achat de produits importés d’Austalie.

Le bureau d’études Philippe Redois Conseil fournit des services d’expertise-conseil sur la valorisation de l’eau de pluie, qui semble s’inspirer du concept PLUVALOR. C’est une initiative à soutenir. La démarche de Redois est d’autant plus courageuse qu’en France, la loi interdit l’usage de l’eau de pluie dans la maison, et même la «stabilisation du pH». Redois n’hésite pas à signaler la possibilité de rendre potable d’eau de pluie, formellement déconseillé – interdit même par les autorités.

Des citernes en plastique et en béton pour stocker l'eau de pluie neutralisée dans la citerne de décantation en béton sont entre autres disponibles en France chez CIELEO.

Toujours en France, la société OZÉLO présente un système semblable à celui de PLUVALOR. Toutefois, pour des raisons légales (en France on réglemente l'usage domestique de l'eau de pluie) OZÉLO ne peut, officiellement, présenter les options pour l'eau potable et alimentaire. Le lecteur complétera son installation suivant les recommandations du site EAUTARCIE.

Dans le monde

Le système PLUVALOR est peu connu en dehors de la francophonie européenne et de ma Hongrie natale (sous le nom de «TELESŐ»). Cela n'empêche que chacun peut trouver dans sa région tout ce qu'il faut pour réaliser son système PLUVALOR.

Autres produits pour la valorisation de l’eau de pluie

Citernes à eau de pluie

La société TUBAO présente une technologie digne d'intérêt pour la fabrication des citernes en acier inoxydable. Tout dépend évidemment du prix d'une telle installation, à comparer avec les offres de prix pour les autres citernes. Il faut savoir que l'acier inoxydable ne neutralise pas l'acidité de l'eau. Ces citernes ne peuvent donc être utilisées que pour les eaux pluviales préalablement neutralisées dans une petite citerne de décantation en béton ou en maçonnerie.

Mérite encore une bonne mention : la société « Autrement demain » notamment pour sa citerne en béton.

Nous donnons les adresses des sites qui vendent des citernes à eaux de pluie. Nous n'avons pas essayé ces citernes. Cette information vous est donné sous toutes réserves.

En plastique et métal :

En béton :

Discuter avec un fournisseur de matériel de filtration d'eau de pluie

Quand on s'adresse à un fournisseur, on entend systématiquement les recommandations pour le placement des filtres au charbon actif et surtout celui des lampes ultraviolets dans le circuit d'eau pour tout usage.

Ne vous laissez pas impressionner par un discours très «écolo», mettant en avant le respect de l'environnement par la valorisation de l'eau de pluie. Lorsqu'un commerçant recommande d'utiliser l'eau de pluie pour les WC, l'arrosage du jardin et la lessive, vous pouvez être certain que, soit il ignore les derniers développements scientifiques concernant la valorisation de l'eau de pluie, soit pour des raisons personnelles il ne souhaite pas aller dans le sens de la valorisation intégrale (gestion durable de l'eau). Il vous fera dépenser beaucoup d'argent pour peu d'utilité. Je ne parle même pas de la démarche environnementale tout à fait incomplète.

Le charbon actif est appelé à éliminer les micropolluants (résidus de pesticides, hydrocarbures) et les odeurs de citerne. Pour usage sanitaire, l'expérience de milliers de ménages montre que ce type de filtre n'est pas utile. Les odeurs sont maîtrisées - dans l'écrasante majorité des cas - par l'aérateur d'aquarium placé dans la citerne. Cet aérateur ne doit même pas fonctionner tout le temps. De nombreux usagers n'y ont jamais recours.

Cependant, dans certains cas spécifiques, on peut avoir recours à un filtre à charbon actif dans le circuit principal de l'eau de pluie (circuit qui délivre de l'eau de qualité inoffensive, mais non potable). C'est le cas notamment d'odeurs provenant des matériaux synthétiques du toit que l'aération dans la citerne ne maîtrise pas. Contrairement à la recommandation de la plupart des commerçants, d'une manière générale, il ne faut pas mettre un filtre de charbon actif dans le circuit principal. En cas de problème d'odeur, renseignez-vous auprès de votre fournisseur de matériel sur le prix de revient (placement + frais de fonctionnement) d'un filtre à charbon actif.

Certains commerçants recommandent aussi la filtration sur 5 microns, voire 1 micron de toute l'eau utilisée par le ménage. Ce n'est vraiment pas utile, tout en étant cher. Les filtres de 1 et de 5 microns colmatent très vite. Ils demandent un entretien plus fréquent, sans utilité pratique prouvée. Tout au contraire: plus la porosité d'un filtre est faible, plus il réduit la pression et le débit. Dans la pratique, l'eau filtrée sur 25 ou 30 microns, suivi d'une filtration sur 10 microns, convient à tous les usages non alimentaires. Un filtre de 10 microns fournit une eau bien limpide. Un tel filtre placé dans le circuit d'eau de distribution en retient une quantité considérable d'impuretés. Dans certains réseaux alimentés en eau de ville, un filtre de 10 microns placé en aval du compteur d'eau est saturé en impuretés en deux semaines. En d'autres termes : dans le système PLUVALOR, vous disposerez d'une eau plus limpide que l'eau de distribution.

Au risque de me répéter: pour l'eau de pluie, il ne faut pas de lampe UV pour désinfecter l'eau, le filtre céramique ou l'osmose inverse suffit. Vous n'avez pas besoin de filtre «anti-calcaire», «anti-nitrates», ni ceux qui éliminent le fer, et/ou les métaux lourds. Vous ne devez jamais oublier que ces filtres ont été conçus non pas pour l'eau de pluie, mais pour les eaux de distribution.

Des systèmes de filtration qualifié de « miraculeux » par leurs promoteurs nous viennent souvent des États-unis. Il ne faut pas oublier que dans ce pays, l'eau de distribution est souvent de qualité médiocre, voire déclarée « non potable ». Pour les populations intéressées c'est une bonne chose, car la distribution d'une eau non potable, mais inoffensive réduit fortement le prix de l'eau. Une telle eau convient parfaitement pour tous les usages domestiques, sauf pour la boisson et l'alimentation. Les Américains boivent surtout des eaux en bouteilles ou bien leurs maisons sont équipées d'un système pour produire de l'eau potable à partir de l'eau de ville. Les appareils de filtration d'eau importés des États-Unis sont extrêmement chers. De plus, ils sont adaptés aux eaux de distribution non potable, contenant des métaux lourds, des nitrates et d'autres substances indésirables. Tel n'est pas le cas en Europe (du moins dans une moindre mesure).

Ne vous laissez donc influencer par un baratin commercial énumérant toutes les impuretés indésirables que l'appareil proposé peut éliminer de l'eau. Chez nous en Europe, la plupart de ces éléments n'y sont pas, comme les bactéries, ou y sont en quantité acceptable, comme les métaux lourds ou les nitrates. Pour filtrer l'eau de pluie, ces systèmes tout en étant très chers, ne présentent aucun intérêt.

Méfiez-vous des commerçant prétendant de vendre des appareils produisant de « l'eau dynamisée » ou « vivante » au départ de l'eau de ville. Quand ces appareils ne modifient pas la composition chimique de l'eau, ils sont probablement inopérants, mais toujours très chers. Dans l'écrasante majorité des cas, un simple filtre de charbon actif (bon marché) donne le même résultat : une amélioration substantielle de goût de l'eau. En cas de doute, l'équipe d'EAUTARCIE est à votre disposition pour vous conseiller gratuitement.

TOP

Accueil - Introduction - Assainissement Ecologique - La Valorisation de l'Eau de Pluie - Gestion des eaux grises - Toilettes Sèches - Eautarcie en Ville et dans le Monde - Gestion Conjointe de l'Eau et de la Biomasse - Réflexions sur les politiques de l’eau - Annexes